Exception or Error with Windows Phone 7 Emulator [SOLVED]

If some of you have encountered having issues with Windows Phone 7 Emulator saying that

“An instance is already running” or “Different user access control is called”

First thing a developer will surely check if there was really an instance running in the system and will check the task manager if there are any XDE.exe that are running.

And then, you find out that there are no instances that are running and the Windows phone 7 emulator will not just RUN even if you try to run Visual Studio 2010 as an ADMINISTRATOR .

The error message is quite tricky at first because I myself was a victim. I had to uninstall Visual Studio 2010, WP7 SDK, and other related libraries that might cause the Emulator not to run properly.

Again, the minimum requirements is 2 GB RAM so if you ever had a lower 2 GB RAM that will be an issue for you having these kind of error message. But for me, it was different because I have an 8 GB RAM. Memory is not the problem for me.

I tried searching for some answers for this but I didn’t find any solutions that worked for me.

The most common solution for you to make your emulator work is these

  • Run Visual Studio 2010 as an Administrator
  • Make sure that there are no instances of XDE.exe running
  • Make sure that you have a DirectX 10 installed
  • Re-install Windows Phone 7 SDK and Visual Studio 2010
  • Make sure that there are no running instances of VM by using your command prompt and typing “sc query vmm”
One nasty user experience from the Installer also led me to confusion. Because if you try to run the Windows Phone 7 SDK and tried to download and reinstall the SDK, the Uninstall option is not there, you only have Customize or Repair. So I ended up trying to download the .ISO of Windows Phone 7 SDK and tried again but just have the same thing. So I was trying to uninstall everything and restarting, and I am already thinking to just reformat my laptop because I think my Windows Phone 7 registry was messed up.  It got also worst because my initial problem was just that the Windows Phone 7 emulator just loads up and ended up closing right away. After doing all these things, the next thing I saw is that the WP7 Emulator is not in the drop down list in Visual Studio 2010, so whenever I try to deploy an application to the emulator it just says error instance, or command paramter error.
Sure, some of you might say that I must use a CCleaner or any register cleaner. Frankly speaking, I did that and nothing happened.I had several issues with the Windows Phone 7 emulator after I installed the Bitdefender anti virus, before the emulator was just working perfectly fine. So my hypothesis is that maybe my anti-virus is blocking some port/firewall that’s why the Emulator won’t launch. So I tried uninstalling it again, restoring my OS to the previous version and hoping that it will work again. Still, no luck.

So, I came to my BIOS and checked if other than these experiments and the problem still occured, maybe there is a virtualization that is being used in my CPU that’s why my emulator is not running. I checked that intel in my laptop supports the virtualization and it was turned enabled.
This was the first time I had a laptop with the “virtualization” feature, so I really had no idea about it that would cause my emulator not to work.
Therefore, if you tried to run your emulator and it doesn’t work. I suggest to check if your laptop supports virtualization and check if its enabled or disabled. If it’s enabled try to disable it. I hope this helps for the developers out there who would encounter the same problem that I did.

Leave a Reply

